Who else has retired out in IPL history? These 3 players have been done before Tilak Verma – 3 players who got retired out in ipl history before tilak varma see full list

In a high -voltage match of IPL 2025, Mumbai Indians lost against Lucknow Super Giants. One thing that caught everyone’s attention in this match was that Tilak Verma had to retired out. Tilak was not scoring runs in this match and he himself went out and walked the pavilion. This has happened many times before in the IPL.

First Ravichandran Ashwin

Ravichandran Ashwin became the first batsman to retire himself in IPL match in IPL history. In 2022, Ashwin was sent before regular number 6 Ryan Parag while playing for Rajasthan Royals. Ashwin was out after two balls of the 19th over when the team’s total score was 135 runs for 4 wickets. Parag faced four balls and scored 8 runs and at that time it was a suspicious decision, but later it proved to be a masterstroke.

Sai Sudarshan also retired out

Gujarat Titans batsman Sai Sudarshan did the same in IPL 2023. He was on a strike of close to 140, but he dismissed himself to give a strike to Rashid Khan. So that Rashid can end the match. Rashid hit the first ball out of two balls and Gujarat Titans scored 233 against Mumbai Indians.

Atharva Taade was also out

In the same season, Atharva Taida was playing for Punjab Kings. In a match against Delhi Capitals, Punjab needed 124 runs to win, which looked like an easy total. However, Tayade was struggling and Punjab needed 71 runs in the last 5 overs. He decided to retire and the other batsmen of the team again landed on the field.

Tilak Verma is the latest case

The latest case of the batsman retiring out out was seen in the match between Mumbai and Lucknow. Chasing 204 runs, when Suryakumar Yadav was batting, the Mumbai team was in the match, but Tilak made it difficult for his team because he was struggling to score runs and he decided to go out of the field by scoring 25 runs off 23 balls, but it was not enough and Mumbai finally lost the match.

What does its rule say?

According to the rule, if a batsman retires without the permission of the umpire and does not allow the opposing captain to resume his innings, he is considered a retired. If this does not, the batsman is marked as ‘retired out’ and is considered out for the purpose of calculating the batting average.

Exit mobile version